

# ACADEMIC PROGRAM REVIEW BOARD 2022-23 ANNUAL REPORT

#### To the Irvine Divisional Senate Assembly:

The Academic Program Review Board (APRB) respectfully submits its report of activities for the 2022-23 academic year.

## I. Board Operations

Jutta Heckhausen, Distinguished Professor of Psychological Science in the School of Social Ecology, continued to chair the APRB during the 2022-23 academic year. James Brody, Professor of Biomedical Engineering in The Henry Samueli School of Engineering, continued to serve as Vice Chair. The APRB is a joint board of the Council on Educational Policy (CEP) and the Graduate Council (GC). It met twice during the academic year. APRB planned and coordinated the 2022-23 academic program review of the Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences (ICS).

### II. Academic Program Reviews

# A. Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences

The School of ICS underwent an academic program review during the 2022-23 academic year. The APRB recruited seven faculty members from other UC campuses and highly regarded non-UC institutions to serve as the external review committee. Based on the self-study materials, faculty and student survey results, and institutional data generated by the school and the Division of Institutional Research, the charge for the review was developed by APRB members in consultation with CEP, GC, the Dean of Undergraduate Education, the Dean of the Graduate Division, and the Provost. The review was held in person on April 19-21, 2023, in agreement with the school leadership's preference. The external review committee submitted its report to the Academic Senate in May 2023. The School of ICS will respond to the report and CEP and GC will then review the external review committee report as well as the school's response in Fall 2023.

#### B. 2023-24 Academic Program Review

Planning for the 2024-25 review of the School of Humanities, which began in March 2023, will continue. APRB will also coordinate follow-up reviews that are scheduled for 2023-24.

## III. APRB Membership

Jutta Heckhausen, School of Social Ecology, APRB Chair James Brody, The Henry Samueli School of Engineering, APRB Vice Chair Pavan Kadandale, School of Biological Sciences, CEP Representative Laura Kang, School of Humanities, GC Representative Zhihong Lin, School of Physical Sciences, GC Representative Hadar Ziv, Donald Bren School of ICS, CEP Representative Thao Nguyen, APRB Analyst